It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:35 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
Is it possible to set the car paint with damage material correctly for rFactor2 ?

Below are the settings that I have used. Any advice would be great and material settings for windows etc.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:17 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
Ok, so the lack of any response means that 3dsimed can not be used to export cars for rF2 !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:44 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1329
Location: Barnet, London
So if I responded 'yes' then that would mean it did work?, for certain on everyone's machine with every model?.

Are you getting bad results?, the message suggests you are but gives no hint as to what problems you have encountered.

If it isn't working have you tried copying the material from another car that's in the game?.


Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:47 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
Well I was trying to find out if anyone else had the problem or I had something set wrong.

The carbodys do not look correct they are dull without any reflections.
The first thing that I did was to copy an isi cars material settings but it gives the strange dull look.
Import an isi car into 3dsimed and export it again and it doesn't have any reflections etc. The model works in rF2 but there is something wrong with the material settings.

Here are a couple of threads on the rF2 forum about the problem.
http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/19254-Reflection-export-problem
http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/11784-guide-for-converting-cars-form-rfactor-1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 3:47 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1329
Location: Barnet, London
I cannot understand why this is not working correctly - perhaps my tests had an element of good fortune because the Reflection Mapping should have been working for a long time. It's also a shame that the comments about 3DSimED were made on another forum and I missed them as I would have looked at any issues ages ago.

At the moment I am reinstalling rF2 so I can't test but when I examine the binaries for the Clio wccarbody material the only difference is that the livery .dds is referenced rather than the original clio_body.dds and I've noticed the alpha channels are different so I wonder if that could be it (does it help to use the original body .dds?) . Whatever, I'll get this sorted for a release in the very near future.

Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:37 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1329
Location: Barnet, London
I have copied the Corvette to Moddev, imported and exported with no loss of reflections. I can even get the reflections to work with reflection mapper set to false.

When I look at the shader for paint with damage the paint texture rgba comes from lerping, by vertex alpha, the diffuse texture and the damage texture (if alpha = 1 use 100% diffuse if 0 use 100% damage). This rgb has added to it (reflected rgb * specular tex rgb * paint alpha * Fresnel reflection). The reflected rgb comes from the objects around so if the specular rgb is bright, the alpha in the paint near 1, and the Fresnel values reasonable it should all work - there's not much to go wrong.

So make sure you have near opaque diffuse and damage textures, a bright specular texture and your vertex alphas nearing 1, and reasonable Fresnel values (which you do have) and it should go.

If there's still a problem please pm me with the model.

Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:56 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:38 am
Posts: 19
rF2 export works fine. From the pics u posted, u have setted ref mapper to false, which MUST be set to true, so the car reflects the enviro. Also fres reflect 0.3, 0.5, 1..... is a little off. Better values achieved with 0.2, 1.0, 4.0, or similar.. A good reference of carbody setting is to see the ISI Vette 1.49 settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 2:03 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
Ah, so that is channel 4 animation reflection mapper should be true. I was playing with different value in fresnel reflect.
I will give it a try soon. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:05 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
I think that I have found a bug that may have caused my problems. I using version 3.0s
If I set the reflection mapper to true and then save the materials to a .3sm file, when I load the materials back in the reflection mapper is set to false.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:58 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1329
Location: Barnet, London
Thanks for sending the model files.

The problem is the specular texture map which is too dark, if you make it brighter then you will get the reflections, I don't even think you need the reflection mapper set to true because for at least this year the rF2 shader has always used the environment, not the cube map.

BTW, yes, you have found a bug but it does not stop the rF2 export from working.

Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:52 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
The reflections appear to be working now. I'm don't know if it was changing the specular map or the reflection mapper to true that fixed it, its just a matter of fine tuning things to get the correct reflections now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:56 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
One more bug is that render target is not saved with save materials it always loads back in as false.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:31 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:38 am
Posts: 19
render target.... i assume you talking about mirror material. u have to set moveable=true, and ofcourse render target=true. than save, and no matter what it says the next time you open it, render is active :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:04 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:44 pm
Posts: 16
Render Target is also used for the gauges.
Its when I save the material settings to a .3sm file I have RenderTarget set to true, then when you reload the material settings file (.3sm) it is set to false.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group