It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3DSIMED + Assetto Corsa
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:32 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 4
Hi Guys,

I'm just trailing the 3DsimED and it looks pretty good so far.

However, I am struggling with getting the cars exported to KN5 for assetto corsa.

I have even tested the import and export with an existing valid .kn5 car and it will not load in the game. The app crashes (stops responding) on loading the car and quits back to the main menu.

There are no errors, but in the log I can only see:

OS-Version: 6.2.9200 () 0x100-0x1
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\analogfuel.cpp (23): AnalogFuel::AnalogFuel
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\caravatar.cpp (266): CarAvatar::initCommonPostPhysics
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\caravatar.cpp (424): CarAvatar::CarAvatar
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\sim.cpp (949): Sim::addCar
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\racemanager.cpp (386): RaceManager::initOffline
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\racemanager.cpp (145): RaceManager::loadSessions
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\sim.cpp (283): Sim::Sim
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\splashscreen.cpp (250): SplashScreen::postRender
d:\dev\devkn_release\ksgame\game.cpp (266): Game::postRender
d:\dev\devkn_release\ksgame\game.cpp (269): Game::postRender
d:\dev\devkn_release\ksgame\game.cpp (135): Game::onIdle
d:\dev\devkn_release\ksgame\game.cpp (163): Game::run
d:\dev\devkn_release\acs\acs.cpp (242): wWinMain
f:\dd\vctools\crt\crtw32\dllstuff\crtexe.c (618): __tmainCRTStartup
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 7599919F)
7599919F (KERNEL32): (filename not available): BaseThreadInitThunk
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 77E2B5AF)
77E2B5AF (ntdll): (filename not available): RtlInitializeExceptionChain
ERROR: SymGetLineFromAddr64, GetLastError: 487 (Address: 77E2B57A)
77E2B57A (ntdll): (filename not available): RtlInitializeExceptionChain


Which isn't much help. Given that this occurs when even importing and exporting a working car the issue is the editor it would seem.

Does anyone know if there is anything special that needs to be done on import and export other than using the defaults for the Assetto Corsa plugin?

Also I have a noob question regarding adding items to a vehicle or model. Firstly is cutting from one loaded .fbx or model and replacing the object on another open model. I can copy and paste, but if I move windows it simply pastes the object from the same car in that window, not from the other model.

Also more frustratingly is when I create a primitive, edit and then add a texture, I want to add it into the LOD file for the car, but it sits separate as it's own, and I can not find anything on the forum or help file to advise on how to move the created object as a sub object of an existing LOD. As if you export without doing this the item will be lost.

Many thanks,


R


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 3:44 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Barnet, London
Is this 3DSimED or KsEditor?, anyway it won't work with the cars supplied with the game you need to look at a 3rd party car. Do you have the AssettoCorsa Car Pipeline document? - it's somewhere in the AC SDK and a vital read.

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:46 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 4
Hi,

This is 3d simed, but I don't understand as I can load the kn5 fine and edit, but when I save it errors saying no texture found and it can't find any of the car textures?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:14 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 4
OK, it seems 3dsimed has an issue when it exports the LEDLIMITER mesh. If I exclude it from the car config the car is in the game.

However, none of the animations work. The car is a static model with everything laid over it in one go, I am not sure why.

I exported as an FBX, imported into KSeditor but the same happens.

The KSANIM files I want to use are the original ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 5:11 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 4
Oh and yes I have read the car pipeline doc, it is a bit confusing in places, but I am able to import a 3ds car into KSeditor and all textures / nodes, but for some reason even the animation imports in that do not seem to work.

I'm not sure what the issue is, seeing as I just want to use the vehicles original animations and KSANIM files that are already in the build folder of the finished car.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:00 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:38 am
Posts: 2
I am having the exact same error... how did you solve it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:35 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Barnet, London
I am working on the Assetto Corsa export plugin to improve support for cars.

At present, the problems seem to be caused by 3DSimED giving all the objects lower case names but Assetto Corsa appears to require mixed case as it matches names with case-sensitivity.

By the end of next week you should have a greatly improved AC Export plugin.

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:33 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:38 am
Posts: 2
Ok, thank you a lot! I'll be waiting for this update.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group