It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:04 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3dse import topology
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:56 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:55 pm
Posts: 4
I'm not sure if Dave Noonan is the only man who can answer this, but I was wondering, when importing models into 3dse does it create the topology exactly as the model already exists or does it retoplogize the geometry?

I'm using existing models to reverse engineer the modeling process for games and it would be helpful to know what state the geometry exported from 3dse is in.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3dse import topology
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:12 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1329
Location: Barnet, London
The way I understand Topology, 3DSimED makes no changes.

What could be different is the number of vertices for an object, and the triangle faces may have the opposite winding and/or triangle lists rather than triangle strips.

Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3dse import topology
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:55 pm
Posts: 4
Excellent, thank you again kind sir.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group