It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:21 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1286
Location: Barnet, London
3DSimED 3.1g is released.

This is a maintenance release including a few enhancements.

FBX Export & Import now support  multiple UV texture coordinate channels.

The Edit->Object By Name function selects the previously selected Object.

Support has been added for DirectX 10 format DDS.

Fixes include GPL Import of materials & Export of texture coords and N2003 PTF Import.

For a full list of the new features and fixes in 3.1g please see 3DSimED 3.1g release notes.

For more details and to download a free 20 day trial please visit http://www.sim-garage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:01 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 3:55 am
Posts: 17
Thx Dave :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:04 am 
Offline
Crew Chief
Crew Chief

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:13 am
Posts: 84
Location: liverpool.uk
many thanks Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:07 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 1:32 am
Posts: 4
Thanks Dave...sorry if I missed this...is there a "how to" or manual for 3DSimED ? Thanks

I am having trouble converting from car.3do to car.X for viewing in carviewer.

_________________
Dedicated to Alan Johnson 14j AKA "AJ Slideways"...Super DIRTcar Series Champion
http://www.maddenmodding.freeforums.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:47 pm
Posts: 27
Hello Dave:

Thanks for your update.

I have find some problems when I try Plugin Export to FBX format and then it is imported with 3dsmax:

For UV maps and Vertex Alphas:
- In 3ds max 2012 x64 (UVmaps and Vertex Alphas are OK)
- In 3ds max 2015 sp4 (UVmaps are OK but Vertex Alphas are wrong)
- In 3ds max 2017 sp3 (some UVmaps are missing and Vertex Alpha are wrong)

For all 3ds max versions:
- 3ds max imports duplicated materials due to 3dsimed exported materials names in each object within same FBX file.

Any suggestion to fix them?

Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:18 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 3:55 am
Posts: 17
Now transparent textures are drawn opaque, both in 3se and in 3do. I dont know if this is deliberatelly or its a bug :)

thanks Dave


Quico


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:11 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 3:55 am
Posts: 17
Hi again

When creating primitives, XYZ Pivot acts as XYZ Pos but not rotates planes anyway. Its possible I don´t know how to use it properly. I'll continue working with it.


Cheers

Quico


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:51 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:17 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Russia, Taganrog City
Hi Dave! :)

I think you need a helping hand with those Forza swatchbins.
(but i can't help you with 3DSimED3 crashes after i press [-> PNG] button for any swatchbin or DX10 DDS)

Here are the results of my digging in this format so far:

Values in swatchbin headers are:
Data start, dword (4 bytes), starting at pos. 08h.
Image width, dword (4 bytes), starting at pos. 4Ch = dwWidth for DDS.*
Image height, dword (4 bytes), starting at pos. 50h = dwHeight for DDS.*
Mipmap count byte at pos. 5Ah = dwMipMapCount for DDS.*
Compression type byte at pos. 74h.
Data size for first mipmap, dword (4 bytes), starting at pos. 80h** = dwPitchOrLinearSize for DDS.*

*DDS header structure: https://msdn.microsoft.com/ru-ru/bb943982
**For BC6H_UF16 compressed cubemap swatchbins pos. is BCh.

Compression type byte in swatchbin:
00h = BC1_UNORM (47h in DX10 DDS header)
03h = BC4_UNORM (50h in DX10 DDS header)
04h = BC4_SNORM (51h in DX10 DDS header)
05h = BC5_UNORM (53h in DX10 DDS header)
06h = BC5_SNORM (54h in DX10 DDS header)
07h = BC6H_UF16 (5Fh in DX10 DDS header)
09h = BC7_UNORM (62h in DX10 DDS header)
0Dh = R8G8B8A8_UNORM (1Ch in DX10 DDS header)
13h = A8_UNORM (41h in DX10 DDS header)

Media\UI\Textures\Thumbnails\Thumbnail_XXX_Big.swatchbins have bad sizes for BCx compression: 816x459 - size is not a multiplier of 4, so, after conversion "as-is" they don't work properly, you need additional checks for this, then replace numbers to closiest - 460 in this example.
Some BC7 compressed swatchbins have alpha channel fully black, i think alpha channel must be ignored for loading in this case.

Uploaded archive with samples of swatchbins for all types of compression and errors here. Versions with fully functional DX10 DDS headers included also - tested with Intel Photoshop plugin and Noesis (very good for cubemaps viewing, but fails with BC4_SNORM compression).

Have a nice day! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:27 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1286
Location: Barnet, London
Many thanks for the info, but I think you'll find that what you are missing (as I did in the version you have) is that the swatchbin header is not fixed - the livery textures have a longer header.
Also, are you looking at Apex Swatchbins?, because there only seem to be formats 0,3,5,9,13 & 19 from my records so I haven't come across the others.

You are also misled by a small bug that reports the swatchbin as being 'DXT5' or 'DXT1' when it's one of the other formats - the code is correctly decoding the files but that incorrect reporting makes it look bad.

It's unfortunate about the PNG export which is totally broken but the .BMP .TGA and .DDS export all work.

Thanks again for all the post.

Cheers!

Dave



Andrakann wrote:
Hi Dave! :)

I think you need a helping hand with those Forza swatchbins.
(but i can't help you with 3DSimED3 crashes after i press [-> PNG] button for any swatchbin or DX10 DDS)

Have a nice day! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:53 pm 
Offline
Champion Driver
Champion Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:49 pm
Posts: 719
Has the issue with elevation scaling of curved PTF segments been fixed yet? So far, in all the versions I've used, the elevation changes in curved segments are exaggerated to the inside of the centerline and reduced to the outside of the centerline.

_________________
Personal Blog (for updates on the Chapman Track Creator)
My Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:38 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:17 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Russia, Taganrog City
Dave Noonan wrote:
Many thanks for the info, but I think you'll find that what you are missing (as I did in the version you have) is that the swatchbin header is not fixed - the livery textures have a longer header.
Also, are you looking at Apex Swatchbins?, because there only seem to be formats 0,3,5,9,13 & 19 from my records so I haven't come across the others.

You are welcome :)

Nice find with those livery headers, i hardly find one (not all liveries from Apex have this type of header). Looks like only difference here it's 8 bytes of new TXQU entry.
I got all info from FH3 leaked dev version, i have only some cars downloaded for Apex.

Upd: In Apex files i found another swatchbin compression format - 0B, images seems to be R16G16B16A16, but picture is just a mess of triangles, i can't select proper DX10 compression for this (0A or 0B or 0D?). Samples here: https://yadi.sk/d/oHUuQBCi3DPioa
Textures are located in Car_Name\Textures\ProxyLOD.swatchbin
FH3 cars doesn't have these textures in same place.
DDS Converter can display many compression formats (using DirectXTex library), usefull for testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:33 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:35 pm
Posts: 19
Hi, Dave.

I've found a curious bug when I tried to rotate a model from the Edit-Rotate option in the main menu. Any Yaw rotation from 0 to 270 degrees it's done correctly, as well as any from -90 to -360 degrees. But if you try to rotate from 270 to 360 degrees, and from -0 to -90 degrees you'll be rewarded with an extra Roll and/or Pitch rotation with a bigger angle as you come closer to 270 or to -90 degrees.

To rotate to a value into the "red zone" you can simply do two rotations and the result is OK. So if yo need to rotate 300 degrees you can rotate it 270 debrees, and then another 30 degrees, and you'll get the desired rotation.

I haven't tried in other axes, and I'm not sure if this is something from this versión or it happened from a previous one, as I don't know whe it was the last time I've tried to rotate anything within this degrees margin.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:59 am 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 16
Hi Dave

Is it normal operation that the saved fbx and persistence wont remember work done ie shaders and lods when loaded back into 3dsimed?..

cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:17 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:32 am
Posts: 1
I have found a bug on this version....

Batch Convert to PNG will just crash the whole program. also just standard convert to PNG will crash everything, no warning and you lose all of your work. this only happens in 3.1g all other version 3 convert to PNG is fine other formats seam to still work ok.

Thanks
Kev


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1g
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:18 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1286
Location: Barnet, London
Sorry about that one - I should have reported myself as I realised a while ago there was a big problem with saving png.

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group